Pearl Izumi

Women's Barrier Convertible Jacket/Vest

4.9 stars
4.9 out of 5 stars, 7 reviews
SALE $89.99
was $99.95, save $9.96 (10%)
photo of Women's Barrier Convertible Jacket/Vest
staff pick
Product Photos:
photo of main product image
Alternate Images:
photo of sleeves zip off & jacket converts to vest
photo of sleeves zip off & jacket converts to vest
photo of Barrier Convertible Jacket/Vest
photo of Barrier Convertible Jacket/Vest
photo of fabric detail
Pearl Izumi

Women's Barrier Convertible Jacket/Vest

#PI-4993-432-XL
SALE$89.99
was $99.95, save $9.96 (10%)
#PI-4993-432-XL
COLOR:
SIZE:
XXS XS S M L XL XXL
Sorry, this product is no longer available.

Like a barrier for wind, cold and rain, this convertible jacket/vest of the same name is one of the most versatile pieces to add to your cycling wardrobe. There is no need to head home in a hurry when you can wander for hours on end in the wind and rain in this amazing Elite Barrier invention. This perennial favorite has zip-off sleeves to be used as a jacket or vest. Genius!

size chart See product details & size chart.

fit: semi-fitted
fabric type: synthetic
# of pockets: 4
warmth rating: minimal
wind rating: windproof 360
water rating: water-resistant
converts to vest: yes
hood: none
shell type: hardshell
country of origin: China
gender: women's

See more product details.

See size chart. size chart

details
fit: semi-fitted
fabric type: synthetic
# of pockets: 4
warmth rating: minimal
wind rating: windproof 360
water rating: water-resistant
converts to vest: yes
hood: none
shell type: hardshell
country of origin: China
gender: women's

Renata says: What a brilliant idea! A jacket that converts into a vest! I wore this jacket on a few runs when it was chilly outside, and it was so nice to be able to remove the sleeves once I warmed up. The sleeves came off so easily, I didn't even have to break my stride. I stuffed them really easily into the huge back pocket and just kept on running.

I have also worn this jacket cycling. It's nice and light, yet it protected me from the wind and a few showers that passed by. It was also breathable, and I never overheated in it.

I really like the light and soft fabric. It feels almost like a soft shell, yet it folds up easily, small enough to stuff into my pocket. I also like how quiet it is in the wind. I am so glad I got this jacket!!

  • lightweight Elite Barrier fabric is wind and water resistant, breathable and highly packable
  • sleeves zip off & jacket converts to vest
  • sleeves are constructed as one piece so that when zipped off they don't get separated
  • full front zipper with zipper garage and wind flap with decorative scroll design
  • soft micromesh on inside collar
  • direct-vent back panel with mesh for ventilation
  • no elastic at hem, lightly elasticized cuffs
  • 2 zippered front hand pockets and a hidden zippered chest pocket
  • large, side entrance back pocket for removable sleeve storage
  • reflective elements on front, sleeves and back for low-light visibility
  • body and mesh: 100% Polyester, weight: 90g/m2
  • See Pearl Izumi care instructions
size chart
click for guide on how to take your measurements
Pearl Izumi Sizing Chart Women's Apparel
Size XS S M L XL XXL
Bust (inches) 31-33 33-35 35-37.5 37.5-40 40.5-42.5 42.5-45
Waist (inches) 23-25 25-27 27-29.5 29.5-32 32-34.5 34.5-37
Hips (inches) 33-35 35-37 37-39 39.5-42 42.5-45 45-47.5

Adult Socks
Size S M L XL
USA Women's Shoe Size 5-7 7-9 9+ na
USA Men's Shoe Size na 6-8 8-10 10+
Euro Shoe Size 35-38 38.5-41 41-44 44+

Women's Gloves
Size S M L XL
width [1] (inches) 6.5-7.25 7.25-8 8-8.75 8.75-9.5

Notes
[1] width refers to palm circumference measurement taken around the widest part of the palm just below the knuckles with hand flat.

Men's Gloves
Size XS S M L XL XXL
knuckle circumference (inches) 6.5-7.25 7.25-8 8-8.75 8.75-9.5 9.5-10.25 10.25-11

outfits
/  
Add outfit items to cart

Email a friend about this outfit

~OR~

Link to outfit (copy and paste):

~OR~

Embed outfit on web page (copy and paste):

reviews

4.9 stars 4.9 for Barrier Convertible Jacket/Vest by Pearl Izumi (7 reviews)

5.0 stars 5.0

Love it!

(Avid Athlete) April 26, 2013

It runs a teeny bit large, but is a great jacket. Love the design. Love that the sleeves unzip and it becomes a vest. Breaks the wind well. Very breathable fabric. High quality product. Would definitely purchase again!

Pros
  • Comfortable
  • Lightweight
  • Windproof
  • Dries Quickly
  • Breathable
  • Stylish
Cons
  • A Teeny Bit Too Big
Uses
  • Medium Cold Weather
  • Cycling
  • Fit: Feels too big
  • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
5.0 stars 5.0

Love this stylish jacket!

(Avid Athlete) December 30, 2011

I wear this jacket for cycling and running. Great to take out on the boat as well. Perfect for when it starts out a little cool and then you can wrap it around your waist once things warm up. I bought the pink one and get lots of compliments on it, think I will buy the yellow one soon too.

Pros
  • Waterproof
  • Windproof
  • Lightweight
  • Stylish
  • Dries Quickly
  • Comfortable
  • Breathable
Cons
  • I only bought one
Uses
  • To be seen
  • Wet Weather
  • Casual Wear
  • Running
  • Cycling
  • Travel
  • Fit: Feels true to size
  • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
5.0 stars 5.0

P/I Barrier Convertible

(Casual/ Recreational) November 9, 2011

Great outer layer for a trail ride on a crisp, fall day. Easy to pack away later, when the afternoon warmed up. HIGHLY VISIBLE for when I ride on the road in foul weather.

Pros
  • Windproof
  • Lightweight
  • Comfortable
Cons
Uses
  • Cycling
  • Hiking
  • Fit: Feels true to size
  • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
5.0 stars 5.0

This product delivers!

(Avid Athlete) July 6, 2011

This jacket is very packable, can fit in a water bottle holder on the bike or a jersey pocket. Haven't used the jacket as a vest yet, but very impressed with its versatility. Does NOT have a clammy feel even during a hard work-out/ride. Highly recommended. Sizes are true.

Pros
  • Lightweight
  • Windproof
  • Comfortable
  • Breathable
  • Waterproof
Cons
Uses
  • Cold Weather
  • Wet Weather
  • Running
  • Cycling
  • Fit: Feels true to size
  • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
5.0 stars 5.0

Extraordinary Multi-season garment!!

(Avid Athlete) April 8, 2011

I've been cycling in severe winter storms and had my Gore-Tex layer
soak through and had this underneath and it kept the under layer dry!
Great jacket and so breathable for cycling, running, hiking when you
need a wind barrier.... This is my second Pearl Izumi jacket in 10 years,
so they wear well and wash well too.

Pros
  • Breathable
  • Lightweight
  • Comfortable
  • Dries Quickly
  • Windproof
Cons
Uses
  • Hiking
  • Running
  • Cycling
  • Fit: Feels true to size
  • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
5.0 stars 5.0

Exactly what I was looking for.

(Avid Athlete) April 6, 2011

I bought this following a couple of rides on foggy mornings when I was worried about my visibility to traffic. I love the fabric and the possibility of converting to a vest on warmer days.

Pros
  • High visibility
  • Lightweight
  • Windproof
  • Versatile
Cons
Uses
  • Cycling
  • Poor visibility condition
  • Hiking
  • Running
  • Cold Weather
  • Fit: Feels true to size
  • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
4.0 stars 4.0

Good windbreaker

(Avid Athlete) March 21, 2011

Very lightweight. A good windbreaker; doesn't add warmth. Detachable bolero-type sleeves are nifty, but do billow a bit in the wind when attached.

Pros
  • Lightweight
  • Dries Quickly
  • Comfortable
  • Windproof
Cons
Uses
  • Cycling
  • Fit: Feels true to size
  • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
[+] All variations
  • UPC code: 0703051732882
  • Manufacturer Part Number: 4993
110057